Skip to content

Reverse Masking

February 13, 2012

I finally had a chance to try out the reverse masking technique! Okay, if I’m honest, I tried it about 2-3 weeks ago, just haven’t had time to post my creation! But as I read somewhere else in blogland… life takes precedence over blogging. As my 5yo dd had surgery 2 weeks ago and I have been struggling to get my (pregnancy caused) low iron under control, I’m trying to let go of my ‘need’ to blog more regularly. So I post when I can and I’ll just have to be okay with that! lol

Anyway, back to the card. I die cut a circle into a piece of cardstock and used it to mask the front of my card so that when I sponged my ink, it only left the circle impression. It is said that using some temporary adhesive to attach your mask to your paper will make sponging easier (ie. the mask doesn’t move) but I don’t have any so I was just careful to hold the paper still. Some suggest using post it notes to do this as well, but I didn’t have any large enough for this circle. You don’t always have to have the ‘recommended’ tools and materials to make a new technique work!

I’m linking this card to the current Runway Inspired Challenge just for fun. 🙂

I particularly love the look of reverse masking a circle and then stamping with a ‘natural’ image and a sentiment, and searching through my stamp stash I discovered I am sorely lacking in natural images. I guess I know what I would like for my birthday now! lol I hope you like this card!

Photobucket

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2012 3:37 pm

    This is such a gorgeously simple card, and I love your masking technique. Thanks for playing along with the Runway Inspired Challenge!

  2. February 19, 2012 9:57 am

    Totally fabulous. The masking came out perfectly!!! Hope everyone at your house is on the up-and-up health-wise. Thanks for playing with us at Runway!

  3. laurafadora permalink
    February 19, 2012 9:57 pm

    This is gorgeous! Love the masking!

  4. January 22, 2013 6:17 am

    Your style is very unique in comparison to other people I have read stuff from.
    Thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess
    I’ll just bookmark this site.

Leave a Reply

